Monday, 24 February 2014

Bring on the Explorers

The president of the Explorers club visited Uganda for the first time recently when he landed in Uganda on the 19th of February this year to tour Uganda prior to a Gala dinner as part of setting up the first African Chapter for the explorers club. 

President of the explorers club “Alan Nichols” joined Premier Safaris specialist Gorilla conservation and health guide Dr Gladys Kalema-Zikusoka for a better insight into Bwindi’s Gorilla families. CNN Inside Africa followed Their progress in Bwindi while they tracked and inspected the nests of the Mubare Family.

 About the Club
The Explorers Club is an international multidisciplinary professional society dedicated to the advancement of field research and the ideal that it is vital to preserve the instinct to explore. Since its inception in 1904, the Club has served as a meeting point and unifying force for explorers and scientists worldwide. Their headquarters is located at 46 East 70th Street in New York City.

Founded in New York City in 1904, The Explorers Club promotes the scientific exploration of land, sea, air, and space by supporting research and education in the physical, natural and biological sciences. The Club’s members have been responsible for an illustrious series of famous firsts: First to the North Pole, first to the South Pole, first to the summit of Mount Everest, first to the deepest point in the ocean, first to the surface of the moon—all accomplished by Their members.

The Club provides expedition resources including funding, online information, and member-to-member consultation. And their famed annual dinners honour accomplishments in exploration. But probably the most powerful resource available to those who join the Club is fellowship with other members—a global network of expertise, experience, technology, industry, and support. The Explorers Club actively encourages public interest in exploration and the sciences through its public lectures program, publications, travel program, and other events. The Club also maintains Research Collections, including a library and map room, to preserve the history of the Club and to assist those interested and engaged in exploration and scientific research.
 Anthropologists to Zoologists
The Explorers Club, which has some thirty chapters in the United States and around the world, is characterized by the great diversity of its members’ backgrounds and interests. The seven founding members included two polar explorers, the curator of birds and mammals at The American Museum of Natural History, an archaeologist, a war correspondent and author, a professor of physics and an ethnologist. Today the membership includes field scientists and explorers from over sixty countries whose disciplines include: aeronautics, anthropology, archaeology, astronomy, biology, ecology, entomology, mountaineering, marine biology, oceanography, palaeontology, physics, planetology, polar exploration, and zoology. You can find out more about what our members are doing in the Expeditions section of the site

Membership of the Explorers club – Who are they?

Members are those individuals who have contributed in broad terms to the cause of exploration and who evidence a sustained interest in some field of scientific exploration and the furtherance of scientific knowledge of the world. Proof of such interest and activities must be set forth in the application for membership.

Extensive travel without a scientific purpose or objective, big-game hunting, photography or similar pursuits in remote parts of the world do not represent sufficient qualifications to become a member of The Explorers Club. On the other hand, active participation in field expeditions sponsored by a recognized scientific organization, university or museum will be given serious consideration, even if the results are part of an ongoing study.
The history of the head office in New York

In 1912, The Explorers Club took upon its rolls all the members of the Arctic Club of America, to which it had sublet quarters and to which it was closely allied through overlapping memberships. The Arctic Club also had been organized by Henry Collins Walsh when he was one of a party returning to New York after the wreck of the Miranda off the coast of Greenland. This cruise--organized as Dr. Frederick A. Cook’s Arctic Expedition of 1894--ended abruptly when "a single solitary iceberg among the almost countless numbers that would be passed on the way would wilfully crash into the Miranda...." (Walsh 1896. The Last Cruise of the Miranda. New York, Transatlantic Publishing Co.). Walsh, Cook, and the other explorers promised each other to meet annually to celebrate their common bond.

The growing membership rolls made it necessary to secure larger quarters. Accordingly the Club purchased the brownstone at 47 West 76th Street, which became its headquarters in January 1922. At about this same time, the membership decided to publish a periodical, entitled then as today, The Explorers Journal. Volume one, number one, is a slim black and white pamphlet dated November 1921. The journal was designed as a forum to share news from the field, news from headquarters, new acquisitions, obituaries, book reviews, and so on.

During the late 1920s, the generous donations of Club president James B. Ford so increased the holdings of the Club's library that a new headquarters was needed. Accordingly, an eight-story building was erected at 544 Cathedral Parkway (or West 110th Street). The Club relocated in 1928, armed with a plan to offset the cost of the new building by subletting the five stories of bedrooms included in the design. During the years that followed, the rental income proved insufficient. Today, the building is a Columbia University dormitory. Visitors can look up at the fa├žade and see allegorical portraits representing the continents. In 1932 the lease at Cathedral Parkway was cancelled by mutual consent, and the Club leased its next and penultimate quarters at 10 West 72nd Street, across the street from the famed Dakota building.

In 1965 the Club purchased its current headquarters at 46 East 70th Street—a stunning Jacobean townhouse built in 1910 for Stephen Clark—for the sum of 650,000 dollars. The building was renamed in honor of Lowell Thomas, famed journalist and a member of the Club, whose generosity helped make the purchase possible. This beautiful townhouse is a fitting home for the Club and also opens its doors for private occasions through our Catering service.

It was here, in 1981, under the tenure of President Charles F. Brush, that the Club again welcomed a new class of members, greatly expanding its rolls. Who were the new Explorers Club members? At last, in the final generation of the twentieth century, women were allowed to join. The first female members included Sylvia Earle, Dian Fossey, Rita Mathews, Anna Roosevelt, and Kathryn Sullivan.

Here's a portrait of Danish explorer Peter Freuchen, who got frostbite on his toes and smashed them all with a hammer himself. When you smash all your toes off with a hammer, you can have a portrait in someone's trophy room.


The president of the Explorers club joined Premier Safaris and Dr Gladys from The CTPH on a trip up the Bwindi mountians to see the Mountian Gorillas first hand. They were also joined by CNN's Zain Verjee who had this to say" The forest was in charge. I knew it the moment I gazed at its dense green overcoat, searching for cracks of daylight in its chaotic folds"

As featured on CNN Inside Africa -